Thunderin' Tuesday

Pictures and Videos of locals or just great shots. Put em here and brag to your buds about your mad skills fo-shizzle.

Moderators: Misfit, adseguy, Pier, Bob, kris, IVO, skysurfr, West

Thunderin' Tuesday

Postby slavman » Wed Sep 15, 2010 10:43 pm

http://www.vimeo.com/15013408
Warning, it's 16 min long, but the day was so good I couldn't cut it shorter.
Slavi
slavman
Kite Crew in Training
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:40 am
Location: chicago

Postby STF » Wed Sep 15, 2010 10:57 pm

awesome


VId!!!!!!
User avatar
STF
Boosticus Maximus
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Sat May 10, 2003 6:32 pm
Location: Chicago

Postby IVO » Thu Sep 16, 2010 11:02 pm

Now I understand why so much talk about this day...Great vid as always Slavi,keep them coming..

and as I said you getting better man!
User avatar
IVO
Zen Levitator
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon May 25, 2009 8:29 pm
Location: Naperville

Postby jkjaeschke » Fri Sep 17, 2010 11:17 am

How are you attaching the cam?
James
jkjaeschke
Resident Windfreak
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon May 05, 2003 2:26 pm
Location: Chicago

Postby slavman » Fri Sep 17, 2010 1:03 pm

You cut a hole in the camera bag/case (plenty to choose from) for a lens. Then I have 2 velcro strips stitched to the case which go around the center strut of the kite. Squeeze it tight around the strut or put a sponge/rubber between the strut and the velcro strap to prevent it from sliding/rotating (rarely using it). Additional rubber band keeps the case from fluttering. If interested I make take some pics next time.
best regards
Slavi
slavman
Kite Crew in Training
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:40 am
Location: chicago

Postby Misfit » Fri Sep 17, 2010 5:38 pm

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!

I'm jealous


cory
Forum Nerd. I like to talk a lot but don't get out much.
Misfit
Wind Whore
 
Posts: 1897
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Too far from that god damn lake.

Postby Safe_Cracker » Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:23 pm

Is it a GoPro or what camera are you using, thanks for the reply ... Polo
I could be wrong, but not usually

:)-~
User avatar
Safe_Cracker
Kite Dominator
 
Posts: 845
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:59 pm
Location: Park Ridge, IL

Postby slavman » Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:55 pm

only the non-HD GoPro is going to work on the kite. both High Def models are wide angle and doesn't show the distance well. I think the company is stupid they didn't want to put a normal F2.8 lens into it (I already approached them), this way a lot of kiters could attach it to their kites. so the 1st generation Go Pro (non HD) is going to work but only with 512 resolution. the trick now is Kodak Playsport which has F2.8 lens and high def, these pictures are not the highest high def, 60 frames/sec, which makes a huge difference.
hope it helps.
slavi
slavman
Kite Crew in Training
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:40 am
Location: chicago

Postby jojy » Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:58 pm

Hey Slavi,
So you say the non HD camera is a better choice ? :?
Avi - 312-451-5841
Peter Lynn Twister II ---> 4.1m
HQ Montana 3 ----> 7.0m
Flexifoil buggy
http://www.aandeitprofessionals.com
jojy
Resident Windfreak
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 1:01 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Postby slavman » Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:00 am

No, the camera I am using is HD Kodak Playsport. I love it, not only for kiting, beach but also for family and work.
If you want to put GoPro on the kite then I guess the older version with lens F2.8 is a way to go (normal lens). The HD GoPro has 2 versions with wide angle lens which is two wide to put on the kite (the object - you is very distant).
Slavi
slavman
Kite Crew in Training
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:40 am
Location: chicago

Postby Bob » Tue Sep 21, 2010 8:45 pm

Slavi,

Mac or PC only? Also, how are you attaching it to the struts?
Bob
www.kiteridersllc.com
madison, wi
Bob
Wind Whore
 
Posts: 1545
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 9:50 am

Postby jojy » Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:09 pm

Avi - 312-451-5841
Peter Lynn Twister II ---> 4.1m
HQ Montana 3 ----> 7.0m
Flexifoil buggy
http://www.aandeitprofessionals.com
jojy
Resident Windfreak
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2010 1:01 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Postby Dutchkiteboarder » Tue Sep 21, 2010 9:48 pm

slavman wrote:You cut a hole in the camera bag/case (plenty to choose from) for a lens. Then I have 2 velcro strips stitched to the case which go around the center strut of the kite. Squeeze it tight around the strut or put a sponge/rubber between the strut and the velcro strap to prevent it from sliding/rotating (rarely using it). Additional rubber band keeps the case from fluttering. If interested I make take some pics next time.
best regards
Slavi


He already explained how to attach it to the kite:lol: Playsport ZX3 is Mac and PC. Just hook it up put it in your editors software. http://store.kodak.com/store/ekconsus/en_US/pd/PLAYSPORT_Video_Camera/productID.169976100 Love the camera.

Think this pouch will work:
Image

I gonna give it a try too! 8)
Dutchkiteboarder
Kite Dominator
 
Posts: 933
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Glenview, IL

Postby slavman » Tue Sep 21, 2010 11:27 pm

Here is the setup, I don't have a kite pumped up but the glass is the center strut. this camera is a no-brainer, for $130 you have so much fun. Again, the family, work, sailing, surfing, kiting, diving, skiing, etc. always in your pocket, whaterprove. you can charge it on the go, in your car. I do have 3 batteries (up to 1.5hr each) and 2 cards (8GB, fast access which means 4in circle symbol, you can buy them cheap, I thing for $20 while the same one different company will be $40). usually 1 battery equals HD 1080x720 60fps 1.5hr. although the batteries could live longer.
super easy to use, switch on/off, the modes/movie/photos 5MP. the most important, you plug the card in your laptop (sony or most of them) or hook it up with an USB. MOV (quicktime or wmp) easy editing.
It's a NOBRAINER.

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
best to everyone
Slavi
slavman
Kite Crew in Training
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 1:40 am
Location: chicago

Postby Bob » Wed Sep 22, 2010 8:56 am

Sweet Slavi,

Looks like it's PC only though for editing? yes? No?
Bob
www.kiteridersllc.com
madison, wi
Bob
Wind Whore
 
Posts: 1545
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 9:50 am

Postby Dutchkiteboarder » Wed Sep 22, 2010 1:49 pm

Bob, like I said before its PC and MAC compatible. Hook the cam up to your Laptop (Macbook or what ever mac you have). I tried it out on a Macbook. The camera works like a card reader / external hard drive. Open up your favorite editing software and import the .MOV file from the camera.
Dutchkiteboarder
Kite Dominator
 
Posts: 933
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 5:11 am
Location: Glenview, IL

Postby Bob » Wed Sep 22, 2010 2:19 pm

perfect...thanks. didn't mean to not believe you first time around, but the info online wasn't 100% clear. when it comes to electronics compatibility, i want to be 100% sure.

bought a terrabite hard drive that was "mac compatible". Guess what...it wasn't.
Bob
www.kiteridersllc.com
madison, wi
Bob
Wind Whore
 
Posts: 1545
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 9:50 am


Return to Pictures and Videos

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron