Trainer kite help? Time to try again after an injury

Feelin' depressed? Don't know where to turn when the man's got you down? Lay it on us!...anything about kiteboarding, or not...

Moderators: Misfit, adseguy, Pier, Bob, kris, IVO, skysurfr, West

Trainer kite help? Time to try again after an injury

Postby jalyn » Sun Oct 14, 2012 9:05 am

Hey there,
I'm relatively new to kiting in that I took a few lessons about 5 years ago with a trainer kite on the beach in Charleston, SC but then proceeded to break my arm in four places...not on the kite, but working with a bottlenose dolphin during a research project-a long story. After multiple surgeries and lots of rehab, I'm back out waterskiing and wakeboarding and was just surfing last week while back in Charleston, SC. I didn't get to try out the kite while I was there but am inspired to try again after watching a bunch of people at Station 28.

I wondered if anyone in Chicago has a trainer kite that they would be willing to work with me on for a bit in the next week or so just to see if it looks like I can physically do it (hanging on for long periods of time-power of the kite) as I am still building my hand strength. I'd just like to see how it feels before I try to jump back into it and invest in lessons if that would be possible. I am really excited to try it again and it would be great to work with someone here in the city and to meet some fellow water dogs.
Thanks for any help here!
Jess Craigie
jalyn
Kiter Noob

Re: Trainer kite help? Time to try again after an injury

Postby 4w7s » Sun Oct 14, 2012 11:48 pm

Whoa, that sounds like an interesting (probably scary) story about the dolphins.