2014 Rally Review

Feelin' depressed? Don't know where to turn when the man's got you down? Lay it on us!...anything about kiteboarding, or not...

Moderators: Misfit, adseguy, Pier, Bob, kris, IVO, skysurfr, West

2014 Rally Review

Postby Northerner » Tue Sep 10, 2013 6:26 am

I wanted to write a quick review of the New 2014 12 meter Rally as I feel it is a bit game changer in terms of kite performance and capabilities. I have 10-12 sessions on the 12 meter after buying one 3 weeks ago. I weigh 180-190lbs depending on the holiday season and now for the first time ever a 12 meter is my light wind kite. I have been riding 2011-2012 Rallys and Rpms actively for 3 years now so I know the kite line well. This summer I just started to the think about a new 12 meter to replace my 12 RPM, but not on a serious level. That changed after demoing the 2014 Rally, as I liked what I felt in terms of low end, hang time and stability.

The low end of the kite is simply insane. Yes it is a bit bigger than the 2012 12 meter rally that we laid on top of it, but only by 3-4” inches on the trailing edge and 4-5 inches at the wing tips. Basically I can ride this kite down to 15-16 mph on a surf board and have fun. It tops out for me around 24-25 where it becomes just ride and boost.

For the first time in my many years of kiting this is the first kite that makes me feel that I truly am attached to a wing. The kite jumps big as all Rally’s did, but this one hangs more. In fact it is a bit uncomfortable as I am now finding myself inadvertently adding a confusing second rotation to my jumps and transitions. Just need more time I guess. Basically the kite has tons of glide and hang time, much more than my 2012 12 rpm which it replaced.