Which Kiteboarding Camp?

Feelin' depressed? Don't know where to turn when the man's got you down? Lay it on us!...anything about kiteboarding, or not...

Moderators: Misfit, adseguy, Pier, Bob, kris, IVO, skysurfr, West

Which Kiteboarding Camp?

Postby Tommy1005 » Tue May 31, 2011 1:03 pm

Hey,

I've been kiteboarding on and off for about 4 years now (in lake michigan). I know the basic skills, I've done plenty of body dragging and kite flying, but I hardly ever have a chance to really go out and practice kiteboarding mainly due to whenever I have a chance there is no wind, or the waves are too big. I usually get a chance to go 1-2 times a year, and I usually spend most of the time bringing myself up to speed and re-learning a lot of the basics.

I really just want to get to the point where I can set up my kite any day of the summer (weather permitting) and go riding for a few hours without having to spend half the time trying to get my kite out of the water. I would also really like to learn how to ride up wind so I don't need to walk all the way back up the beach every time I land.

Can anyone recommend a good kiteboarding camp to attend? I know there's a bunch of camps in San Padre TX and then there's the camp in North Carolina (real water sports). Has anyone had any experience with these? Or could anyone make a recommendation on a good camp they have had experience with?

Thanks for the help!
Tommy1005
Kiter Noob

Re: Which Kiteboarding Camp?

Postby urjc22 » Tue May 31, 2011 5:18 pm

I would go to Kite Club in Cabarete. The wind will blow everyday there in the Summer and you will be up and riding in no-time. If too expensive for travel, then Hatteras or Texas are good. Real is somewhat expensive though.
urjc22
Adrenaline Junkie

Postby West » Sun Jun 05, 2011 8:38 am

There are several qualified instructors in area.....Bob in Madison, Chris at Sharkless, Mac crew in Grand Haven, Roberto in Muskegon, and Lino in Chicago.......